The County You Live, Work And Play

© 2016 All rights reserved. Made By Mike Wilson

Pupils Praised At Road Safety Awards


Primary pupils were commended for their efforts in promoting road safety within their schools at an awards ceremony.

North Lanarkshire Council held its annual Junior Road Safety Officers (JRSO) Awards in Motherwell, with St Stephen’s Primary School from Coatbridge taking the title of Team of the Year.

JRSOs Erin McDade (P6) and Paul Murchie (P7) along with co-ordinator Susannah Davies received trophies and gift vouchers from Councillor Stephanie Griffin, vice-convener of the Planning and Transportation Committee.

Second place was awarded to Aidan Mullen (P6), Casey Patterson (P7) and co-ordinator Pamela Purdue from St Bernadette’s Primary in Motherwell.

In joint third place were Ladywell Primary from Motherwell’s team of Craig Fleming (P6), Robbie Welsh (P7) and co-ordinator Pamela Graham, and St Brigid’s Primary in Newmains’ team of Johnathan Pickering (P7), Ella McKendrick (P7). JRSO helpers Nuala McKendrick (P6) and Jessica Kyle (P7) and co-ordinator Jean Perrie.

Congratulating the teams on their success Councillor Griffin said: “All our JRSOs and co-ordinators put a tremendous amount of hard work into raising awareness of road safety issues in and around their schools.

“Through campaigns, noticeboards and events in schools they are role models for other children, and encourage pupils and parents to follow road safety rules when walking or driving to and from school. They are an asset to their schools and communities.”

Two new awards were introduced this year to highlight the campaigns and noticeboards set up by JRSOs in their schools.

The inaugural Campaign of the Year was presented to Chapelhall Primary, represented by JRSOs Emma Torley (P6) and Francesca Millar (P7) and co-ordinator Suzanne Brown, by Donald Green from AMEY who sponsored the awards ceremony.

The school’s Promoting Safe Parking’ and ‘Promoting Park and Stride’ campaigns incorporated designs from a walk to school competition on to an umbrella which they sold to parents and pupils.

St Stephen’s Primary in Coatbridge were second, with Allanton Primary in Shotts and Balmalloch Primary in Kilsyth in joint third.

The Noticeboard of the Year award was won by the team from St Brigid’s Primary, Newmains with Balmalloch Primary in second and John Paul II Primary from Viewpark taking third.

The Viewpark team included Louisa Gilluley (P6), Kyle McIntyre (P6), Thomas Baird (P7), Charlai McKie (P7) and co-ordinator Emma Byrne, were presented with their prize by Deborah Hood from AMEY.

Awards were also presented for Co-ordinator of the Year, recognising the important work these staff do to support the JRSOs in their school.

Graham MacKay, head of Roads and Transportation at the council, presented Pamela Graham from Ladywell Primary with the top prize and Stephanie Garey of Baird Memorial Primary, Condorrat, was second.

Ladywell Primary were third in the Team of the Year award and Pamela Graham was Co-ordinator in the Year

St Bernadettes Primary finished runners-up in the Team of the Year award.

St John Paul II Primary were third in the Noticeboard of the Year award.